Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton, Emerge Winners of the 2020 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony in honor of individuals and teams from the sports world, along with sporting achievements throughout the year.

Lionel Messi

This year’s edition took place in Berlin, Germany, after the past three consecutive years in Monaco.

With six World Championships and Ballon d’Ors between them, Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi share the Laureus 2020 World Sportsman of the Year award, in what appears to be a moment of sporting history, as both individuals win the award for the first time in the history since its founding in 2000.

35-year-old Hamilton who has won the prizes;
“Thank you to the Laureus Sport for this incredible World Sportsman of the Year prize. It is really humiliating to think that my name will stand next to the legends who won this prize for me. Thanks again.”

Lionel Messi, who became the first ever footballer to win the Laureus World Sports Award, says video footage;
“First of all I apologize for not being able to come to the awards night. I really wanted to be there for everything that this award represents, but unfortunately I couldn’t make it.

“I am honored to be the first to win this prize as an athlete from a team sport and not as an individual sport, which is usually the case.”
I want to thank the academy for giving this recognition “… concluded 32-year-old Barcelona ahead.

CloudNine Sports understands that Messi and Hamilton are winners over other nominees such as; American golfer Tiger Woods (44), Kenyan long-distance runner Eliud Kipchoge (35), Spanish tennis player Rafael Nadal (33) and Spanish Grand Prix motorcycle racer Marc Marquez (27).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.